SamplePrep Study Group Objectives

In 2019, the European Chemical Society-Division of Analytical Chemistry (EuChemS-DAC) approved the formation of a new Task Force focusing on Sample Preparation. In 2020, following the annual evaluation of activities, the EuChemS-DAC Annual Meeting upgraded the Sample Preparation Task Force to a Study Group. This marked sample preparation as a major topic of particular importance to DAC.

The aims of the Study Group are the promotion of sample preparation through the organization of events, facilitation of communication, information exchange and networking, and the promotion of fundamental studies and cross-disciplinary collaboration. To further benefit the area, efforts are placed on promoting innovation and entrepreneurship as well as the involvement of early stage researchers.

The Sample Preparation Network  was created in 2019, to allow members of the sample preparation community to work collectively towards promoting, improving and synchronizing activities in the area. The Sample Preparation Network is a major outcome of the EuChemS-DAC Sample Preparation Study Group and an ideal platform to increase the impact and visibility of sample preparation.


Study Group Committee Members

Elefteria (Elia) Psillakis (Head of the Study Group and Network) is Professor in Water Chemistry at the School of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, Technical University of Crete, Greece. She received her Chemistry degree from Universitè Montpellier II, France, and her PhD from University of Bristol, U.K. In 2007, she was selected for a Fulbright Research Fellowship and used it at Caltech, USA. Her research activities focus on (i) understanding and developing new sample preparation methods and (ii) monitoring the environmental fate of organic contaminants.

Manuel Miró is Full Professor in Analytical Chemistry at the University of the Balearic Islands; Visiting Professor at Charles University; and member of the IUPAC Chemistry and Environment Division. He is currently the Reviews Editor of Analytica Chimica Acta and Associate Editor of the Encyclopedia of Analytical Science, 3rd Edition. His publication record shows over 185 refereed articles and book chapters, with an h-index of 38. His research is focused on novel miniaturized and automatic fluidic platforms for sample processing.

Luigi Mondello is Full Professor of Analytical Chemistry at the University of Messina, Italy. His research is focussed on the development of multidimensional chromatographic instrumentation and software (GC×GC, LC×LC, LC-GC×GC, LC-GC-GC-GC-prep.), coupled to state-of-the-art MS, for the study of complex matrices constituents and contaminants.

Stig Pedersen-Bjergaard is Professor at School of Pharmacy, University of Oslo (Norway), and Professor (part time) at Department of Pharmacy, University of Copenhagen (Denmark). He has specialized in analytical micro extraction technologies, on development and applications of artificial liquid membranes, and on electrokinetic separation methods. He has published more than 165 papers in international journals, is Contributing Editor of Trends in Analytical Chemistry (Elsevier), and Associate Editor of Journal of Pharmaceutical Analysis (Elsevier).

Slavica Ražić is Full Professor in Analytical Chemistry at the University of Belgrade - Faculty of Pharmacy. She is the chair of the Division of Analytical Chemistry of European Chemical Society (DAC-EuChemS) and also the chair of the Division of Analytical Chemistry of Serbian Chemical Society. Her research interests are mostly in the analytics of (i) environmental, (ii) biological and (iii) forensic samples, in method development combined with contemporary sample preparation techniques, as greener as possible.

Marcela Segundo holds a BSc in Microbiology and a PhD in Biotechnology (College of Biotechnology, Portuguese Catholic University). She is currently research leader at REQUIMTE, Portuguese Government Associate Laboratory for Green Chemistry, Clean technologies and also member of the Executive Board of Faculty of Pharmacy, U.Porto, where she teaches in the Department of Chemistry. Her current research focuses on automation of sample treatment prior to chromatographic analysis, and on development of high-throughput microchemical methods.

Sibel A. Ozkan is Professor at Ankara University, Turkey. She is an active member of European Chemical Society-DAC on behalf of Turkish Chemical Society, a member of the European Pharmacopoeia-EDQM- Chromatography Section and PortASAP, Cost Action CA 16215. She has published more than 285 original and review papers and Editor of 6 scientific books and more than 35 book chapters in different years. She is the Editor of Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis and Regional Editor (Europa) of Current Pharmaceutical Analysis. In recognition of her work she has received a number of awards.

Charlotta Turner is a Professor in Analytical Chemistry at Lund University in Sweden. She has a PhD in analytical chemistry focused on supercritical fluid extraction. Charlotta has published over 100 scientific articles, review papers and book chapters, and received several awards for her research. She is the chair of the Analytical Chemistry Division of the Swedish Chemical Society and elected member of the Royal Engineering Science Academy (IVA) and the Royal Physiographic Society.

Barbara Bojko is Associate Professor at Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun, Poland. Her research focuses mainly on the introduction of new analytical solutions based on microextraction techniques to clinical diagnostics and research in the field of pharmaceutical sciences. Her particular interested is in low- and non-invasive tissue analysis in the field of oncology, transplantology, and translational medicine. She published more than 90 papers in refereed journals and obtained more than 2300 citations. Her h-index is 28.

Ezel Boyacı studied chemistry at the Izmir Institute of Technology, Turkey, where she received her M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees. In 2012 she became a postdoctoral fellow and a research associate at University of Waterloo, Canada in Prof. Pawliszyn’s Research Group. Since September 2017 she is an associate professor at Department of Chemistry, Middle East Technical University, Turkey. Her research interests focused on clinical, pharmaceutical and environmental applications of various formats of SPME, development of new extractive phases for SPME and metabolomics studies using SPME.

International Guest Members

Janusz Pawliszyn is a Professor at the University of Waterloo, Canada and the inventor of solid-phase microextraction. His primary focus is the design of highly automated and integrated instrumentation for the isolation of analytes from complex matrices. He is a Fellow of Royal Society of Canada and Chemical Institute of Canada, editor of Analytica Chimica Acta, Trends in Analytical Chemistry and a member of the Editorial Board of Journal of Separation Science and Journal of Pharmaceutical Analysis.

Gangfeng Ouyang is a Professor at the School of Chemistry, Sun Yat-sen University, China. His research is mainly focusing on Environmental Analytical Chemistry, the fundamental study and the applications of microextraction technology. He is the winner of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholar, FRSC and the contributing editor of Trends Anal. Chem. He published more than 200 papers in different refereed journals and obtained more than 5000 citations.